The Department of Physics has been effective since the establishment of the college in the year 1989. Since 2016, the department is offering university level undergraduate course B.Sc (Hons.) in Physics.


To build a foundation to impart high quality research standards in pure and applied physics.


  • To train the students to become competent and motivated physicists.
  • The department focuses in incorporating scientific temperament with a practical approach in the area of education and researchin order to meet ongoing development in science.
  • To maintain a research environment, in which key scientific and technical innovation are generated

The department is currently running B.Sc (Hons.) in Physics under CBCS Mode.

The department has state-of-the-art research lab wherein the students build their foundation on the principles of physics thereby enhancing the scientific temperament. It is equipped with:

  • Mechanics Lab
  • Thermal Physics Lab
  • Optics laboratory
  • Digital and Analog Lab
  • Modern Physics Lab
  • Computer Lab (under constru.)

These laboratories are well equipped with instruments such as He-Ne laser, polarimeter, optical benches, spectrometer, Sodium & Hydrogen lamp, Oscilloscopes, function generators, power supplies etc to aid the learning process and meet the practical requirements.The departmental computer lab is under construction. At present it is enriched with Free/Open Source Software such as FORTRAN 90, SCILAB, LATEX, and GNUPLOT etc.

Departmental Library: The Department has a collection of academic books maintained within the labs. Students and teachers both can use this facility during practical's and otherwise to prepare their lectures.

ICT Uses for the faculty & students The Department has 4 systems with Internet facility. They are available for both staff and students to access web.

The department conductselections for the departmental council and unanimously elects Class Representatives (CR’s) every year. The office bearers of the departmental council and CR’s for the session 2018-2019 are as follows

S.No. Designation Name of the student Year
1 President Abhilasha Jhinkwan B.Sc. (H) Physics III
2 Vice-president Mamta Garhwal B.Sc. (H) Physics II
3 Cultural Secretary Arshiya B.Sc. (H) Physics II
4 Treasurer Neelima Kawatra B.Sc. (H) Physics II
5 Secretary Shruti Sadual B.Sc. (H) Physics I

Names of CR from each year

S.No. Name of the student Year
1 Vaishali Rajput B.Sc. III
2 Mansi B.Sc. III
3 Garima B.Sc. II
4 Anshima B.Sc. II
5 Sandhya B.Sc. I
6 Yaashil Yadav B.Sc. I

The Department of Physics organizes its Technical fest every year in collaboration with three other departments namely Chemistry, Mathematics and Statistics under the canopy of “TRAP”. The Physics society “TECHNOYS” and student council of the department organize various simultaneous events and interscollege competitions during the fest. A lot of participation from different colleges is being observed during the fest.

Projects Completed:

  • Isolation and characterization of halotolerant bacteria from saline soils and study their effect on wheat seedlings. Funding Authority: University of Delhi ,Grant: 6 Lakhs
  • Complexity of repeat sequences in differential genomes of plant/animal infecting viruses. Funding Authority: University of Delhi Grant: 3.5 Lakhs
  • Unraveling the genetic basis of Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML). Funding Authority: University of Delhi Grant: 6 Lakhs
  • Bioactive component quantification and inhibitory activity of MurrayaKoenigii (Curry leaf) extracts against key enzymes linked to the pathology and complications of type 2 diabetes. Funding Authority: University of Delhi, Grant: 6 Lakhs
  • Design, Synthesis and evaluation of anti-diabetic activity of substituted alkyl carboxylic acid derivatives as GPR40 agonists. Funding Authority: University of Delhi, Grant: 7.5 Lakhs
  • Transition metal based spinel oxide-graphene nanoribbon composites for removal of pesticide from water. Funding Authority: University of Delhi, Grant: 5 Lakhs
  • Isolation and characterization of Adhatoda Vasica constituents for antimycobacterial activity against mycobacterium tuberculosis in vitro and ex vivo within human macropahges. Funding Authority: Department of Science and Technology (DST) , Grant: 23.3 Lakhs

Conferences and Workshop: Two National Conference and a workshop has been organised by Department:

  • “Understanding Mechanisms and Challenges of Complex Diseases” (UMCCD) -1 (2014)
  • “Understanding Mechanisms and Challenges of Complex Diseases” (UMCCD) – 2 (2016)
  • Two day National workshop on “Drug Discovery Technology-Computational Approaches in Drug Discovery & Design” (2017)

The students actively participate in various competition & events and bring laurels to the Department. Some of the recent achievements include:

  • Department of Physics won first position in March-Past in SPARDHAA, 2019 – the sports fest of SRCASW organized on 17-18 January 2019.
  • Department of Physics achieved “The best department award” for scoring the maximum number of medals in Interdepartmental Sports Tournament organized by Physical Education department of SRCASW.
  • Shipali Bisht, B.Sc (H) III year received a letter of intent for the role of Trainee – Computer Applications from WIPRO LIMITED
  • Shalini B.Sc (H) II year got first position in poster making competition organized on 10/09/2018 by Literary society of SRCASW
  • Shalini B.Sc (H) II year got second position in painting competition organized on 13/03/2019 by Northeast cell of SRCASW.
  • Garima Sati B.Sc (H) II year received first position in poetry competition at the occasion of Hindi Divas at SRCASW and second position in speech competition organized by Nehru Yuva Kendre.
  • Jyoti Yadav, B.Sc (H) II year won first position in relay race and second position in 50 m race in SPRADHAA 2019 held on 17-18 January 2019 at SRCASW.