The Computer Science Department had its inception in 2004. The Department conducts B.Sc. (H) Computer Science (under CBCS mode) which is a three year program consisting of six semesters. The students are given exposure in the field of DBMS, Computer Networks, Software Engineering, Unix Scripting, Computer Graphics, Algorithms, Information Security, Data Mining and Internet Technologies. In this course the students are imparted programming skills in C++, application of C++ in Data Structure, Network Programming. The software engineering project using Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is to be developed in the fourth semester in which all the work tasks associated with the phases of SDLC are documented and analyzed for its quality based on instructor review. The curriculum provides extensive Laboratory sessions where students implement the concepts which they learn in theory. This course provides tremendous employment opportunities in industries at graduation level and the students expertise in the field of programming, web designing, Internet Technologies, hardware etc. The diverse expertise imparted to the students enables them to secure various employment opportunities in the field of IT and Computer Science.

Over the past few years the department has provided excellent infrastructure for executing software skills using the latest software development tools and technologies. The department has 5 well equipped ICT enabled labs with

  • about 100 computers with latest computer configuration : Intel corei7 – 3.4 GHz processors with 4 GB RAM, 64 bit operating System with Wi-Fi connectivity,
  • Three High-end HP ML350G8 Tower Model Servers and Laptops
  • a good combination of Licensed Software and Free/Open Source Software to enrich student practical experience,
  • Three HP Laserjet 4555HMFP server printer, color laser printer, laser printers and scanners.
  • Each lab has LCD projectors which are used as a teaching aid for seminars and presentations.

Department has latest software like Turbo C++, Oracle 10Gi, Multimedia Tools, Red Hat Linux, Visual Studio, Developer 2000, Windows NT server, Fortran 90 etc. To enhance the spirit of research work among students the labs are equipped with internet facility to provide e-journals to the students. Laboratory network is further equipped with CISCO 2900 series routers, CISCO 1900 switches 24 Port full Duplex, Bay stack 425 24 T switches, 16 port hubs, cable testers etc.

Computer Science Department has one specialized CCNA Lab as well where students are given hands-on training about CISCO routers, switches, bridges etc. Department also has various utility rooms like programmer room, server room, departmental library, ups room, teaching rooms and technical staff room. Department has skilled lab staff which includes a Scientific Assistant, Technical Assistant, Lab Assistants and Lab Attendants to manage the lab work efficiently.


Detailed syllabii of B.Sc(H)Computer Science(CBCS mode)


Computer Literacy Program –a Government of NCT of Delhi Initiative

Computer Science Department has started Computer Literacy Program in collaboration with Manav Ujjwal Samaaj Samiti, Kondli specially for women of the under privileged sections of the society. Duration of this course is six months and it has five modules .This program will help them to be self reliant and confident in using current technologies in their day to day life and also make them better suitable for jobs where basic computer literacy is a pre-requisite


Department of Computer Science conducts elections to select their Departmental Council representatives every year. Voting for selecting the representatives is done in a paperless manner through the use of a Computer Software developed by the students of the department.

Member of the Council plays a major role in the organization of yearly Technical Fest – “TECH-MELANGE”, Workshops, Seminars, Conferences, etc.

Current elected Council representatives for the year 2016-17 are:-

  • Shakshi Bachhety – President
  • Ayushi – Vice President
  • Akanksha Rajwar –Secretary
  • Devanshi – Joint Secretary
  • Archita Dabral – Treasurer
  • Shrishti Vermani – Assistant Joint Secretary